New Guy

Welcome & Introductions

New Guy

Postby stewartb109 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:28 am

Hey guys, my name is Bryan. I do not own a 4x4 vehicle, though for quite some time I have been attempting to use my Hybrid Civic as such (scars and damage to prove it). I am needing and wanting to break into the 4x4 game for a few different reasons. I need the increased cargo space and capabilities primarily for work related things (I am a firearms instructor and foreign diplomatic protections agent) and areas I need to access.

I don't plan on taking it on extreme trails, but do want to get it dirty and travel with it. Sorry guys, I don't find any fun in spending thousands on parts to drive over a couple large boulders only to break said parts and rinse and repeat. So I guess the way to classify what I would be into is Overlanding and not wheeling / crawling ?

(I will post the same question in the 4x4 general section as I am below just in case fewer people read the intro's than the general question sections)

So I need your help guys on deciding what direction to go for a vehicle within a few criteria. Any input would be great since the more I research the more confusing / frustrating things get (MPG, Cost of upkeep, repairs, problems, ect)

1. I need 4x4 and I would like to stay within the SUV class. I have looked at Land Rovers (I like Discos / LR3's), Hummer (H3), Jeep Wrangler (Prefer Unlimited), and FJ's. Are there any others I should be looking at since I am not rock crawling?

2. Cost -- I am looking at used (or new if its within reason) and would prefer not to spend any more than $25,000