white smoke on start-up?

H3 Specific Information

white smoke on start-up?

Postby lmilli1 » Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:35 pm

Hey guys and gals.
I recently got an '06 H3... Everything is going great except for the white smoke that comes out the exhaust on start-up. This happens when the truck has been sitting for several hours only. I have been researching, talking to folks, etc etc and I cant seem to pinpoint the problem. So, here I am in a Hummer forum hoping one of you can lend me your wisdom, and have had a similar issue. Here are the culprits I have explored and heard about thus far.....any thoughts would be GREAT:
-valve seals
-head gasket(I don't think that's it. After start up everything runs just fine)
-cylinders
-just normal?
any ideas? please be specific, I am new to Hummer :) Thank you!!
lmilli1
New User
New User

Vehicle: 2006 Hummer h3

Postby caljon88 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:53 am

Way back when I had an S10 that did that and a valve job fixed that. How many miles?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
2009 Black H3 Adventure
GOBI Stealth rack with ladder and HiLift
OEM vent visors
Cobra 75 WX CB
Much more to come.......
caljon88
Trail Rider
Trail Rider

Vehicle: 2009 Hummer H3 Adv

Re: white smoke on start-up?

Postby marcanthonywebs » Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:49 pm

lmilli1 wrote:Hey guys and gals.
I recently got an '06 H3... Everything is going great except for the white smoke that comes out the exhaust on start-up. This happens when the truck has been sitting for several hours only. I have been researching, talking to folks, etc etc and I cant seem to pinpoint the problem. So, here I am in a Hummer forum hoping one of you can lend me your wisdom, and have had a similar issue. Here are the culprits I have explored and heard about thus far.....any thoughts would be GREAT:
-valve seals
-head gasket(I don't think that's it. After start up everything runs just fine)
-cylinders
-just normal?
any ideas? please be specific, I am new to Hummer :) Thank you!!